Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann, Mid-Atlantic Region


Bill Ochs Teaching by midatlanticcce
January 17, 2010, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Classes / Lessons / Education, NYC

Bill Ochs Teaching

From Bill Ochs:

I will resume my full winter teaching schedule next week, offering a range of tin whistle classes, as well as private instruction on the tin whistle, uilleann pipes and Irish flute.

Group Tin Whistle Lessons in Manhattan for Intermediate and Advanced Students:

This winter I will offer a range of tin whistle classes at my studio in mid-Manhattan. Ten-week sessions include Ear Training and Repertoire Building, Intro to Session Tunes, and an advanced class on The Music of Matt Molloy— an in-depth analysis of this great flute player’s style (open to tin whistle and flute players). There will also be a class on how to translate settings of tunes from other instruments to the tin whistle, with particular emphasis on breathing and phrasing. The fee for any one of these ten-week sessions is $195. There are still a few spaces left in each class. Please contact me regarding schedule.

Private Lessons in Manhattan:

I will continue to offer individual private lessons on the tin whistle, uilleann pipes, Irish flute and low whistle at my studio in mid-Manhattan. I teach all levels, from absolute beginner through advanced. My teaching hours are Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 4:00 to 10:00 PM. The fee is $45 for a 45-minute private session.

Private Lessons via Webcam or Speakerphone:

If you can’t travel into Manhattan I also give online private lessons using Skype, the free phone and video chat software. For video lessons you need a webcam, a fast broadband connection and a fairly recent computer. Students with older computers can usually take audio-only lessons with Skype. I can also give lessons via speakerphone if your current hardware is not Skype-compatible. Please contact me if you have questions about this.

Irish Arts Center:

After over thirty-five years of teaching weekly tin whistle classes at The Irish Arts Center, I have passed the baton to my student Kate Bowerman, who is doing a great job! For info on Kate’s classes for Absolute Beginners, Advanced Beginners and Intermediate students, click here.

I plan to use the time freed up from my weekly teaching at the IAC to develop new programs. I will give a multi-media presentation on the history of pipes and piping in Ireland at The Irish Arts Center on Sunday, June 6 at 3 PM. Please save the date. The presentation will be followed by a solo piping concert. Tickets will be $18. I will send more details in the spring.

Sincerely,

Bill Ochs

************************
Web: http://www.pennywhistle.com
E-mail: billochs@pennywhistle.com
Address: 467 W, 46th St., New York, NY 10036
Phone: 212.247.3231
************************

Comments are closed.



